top of page
  • Writer's picturewalkingtengu

From the other side of the world.

Updated: Mar 15, 2019

I've always enjoyed receiving post from other countries. For some reason it feels like a little package of adventure delivered to my front door.


Here is this thing that has come from a country far away. Out of reach, mysterious, yet all too human, just the same.


We can't always travel, but when I hold something in my hands that was brought to me from a place far away... for just a moment. I have a connection to that place.

It is the same with these works I talk about on the podcast. Not spatially, not geographically... but temporally, historically.


When the words and thoughts of an author from across time pass through the neurons of our own mind. For just a moment. We have a connection to that time.



 

Listen to the podcast "Walking With The Tengu" at: https://anchor.fm/walkingtengu for analysis and thoughts on how classic works are meaningful to the modern martial artist.

27 views

Recent Posts

See All

Wisdom and Training Musings

A little while ago I became aware of The Juyukai (https://juyukai.com/) an in-person training group and the project of two guys Ryan and Alex. I was already aware of Ryan through his work at GMB Fitne

bottom of page